Bushcraft Weekend

Last weekend I enjoyed the last of the courses I had booked on for my sabbatical. The bushcraft course I that was cancelled in March, was transferred to their summer session.

Another great opportunity to meet new people, share our passions and learn new skills. To begin with I felt as though I was back in the brownies and guides – now that’s a very long time ago.

We practiced fire making, looking at different techniques. Lunch was cooked over the campfire. We then went looking for some birch to make tent pegs, and a pot holder for over the fire. I had a lovely straight piece left with a prefect v where the branch split off. I realised when I held it in my hand that it was just the right height to make a thumb stick.

The second day we were focussing on the camp site. How best to use an area, what to watch out for and how to set up a tarp. So along with this we needed to learn a few knots that make it quick and easy to set up and pick everything away.

If you have a tarp and no cord to tie it up with, you need to know how to make some. I was quite suspect about making cord out of nettles, but it worked and is a lot stronger than you might think. Though, it does make your hand ache making it. I found on the drive home that I was starting to feel a slight tingling in my fingers. Obviously, I had not flashed the stems through the fire long enough to dull all of the stings.

We learned how best to use a Dutch oven and keep it in good condition. Then made soda bread in it for our lunch along with fried pigeon and halloumi.

It has been really good to meet new people, listen to their passions and see just how in-line we are with our care for the environment and each other’s wellbeing.

About localpreacherforkliftdriver

I am a Methodist Minister taking up a new appointment in the North Cheshire Circuit, September 2019, with pasoral charge of Tarvin, Kelsall, Rowton, Christleton, Oakmere & Hoole churches. Views are my own.
This entry was posted in Blogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment